American Board of Wound Management Receives Re-Accreditation of its CWCA®, CWS®, and CWSP®, from the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA)


For Immediate Release

April 23, 2018

Contact: Vickie Lindsey

Director of Marketing & Operations



WASHINGTON (April 23, 2018)—The NCCA re-accredited the American Board of Wound Management CWCA®, CWS®, and CWSP® for a five-year period, expiring April 2023, during its recent meeting. Founded in 1995, the American Board of Wound Management (ABWM) is a professional certification organization acting in the public interest by establishing and enforcing education, examination, experience and ethics requirements for certification. ABWM is dedicated to the multi-disciplinary team approach in promoting the science of prevention, care, and treatment of acute and chronic wounds. The primary function is to establish and monitor a national certification process, recognize competency, promote education and research, and elevate the standard of care across the continuum of wound management. The American Board of Wound Management is the standard of excellence in multidisciplinary wound certification. The ABWM offers three certifications: Certified Wound Care Associate®(CWCA®), Certified Wound Specialist®(CWS®), and Certified Wound Specialist Physician®(CWSP®). Currently, over 4,000 clinicians and professionals are certified to use the CWCA®, CWS®, or CWSP® designation. The ABWM first received NCCA accreditation in 2013. ABWM received renewal of NCCA accreditation of its CWCA®, CWS®, and CWSP® by submitting an application demonstrating the program’s compliance with the NCCA’s Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs. NCCA is the accrediting body of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly the National Organization for Competency Assurance). Since 1977, the NCCA has been accrediting certifying programs based on the highest quality standards in professional certification to ensure the programs adhere to modern standards of practice in the certification industry. To view the standards, visit Executive Director, Chris Murphy says, “We are honored to have met rigorous standards of the NCCA and that the CWCA®, CWS®, CWSP® programs remain included in the elite group of 254 programs that are currently accredited by NCCA.” There are 254 NCCA accredited programs that certify individuals in a wide range of professions and occupations including nurses, financial professionals, respiratory therapists, counselors, emergency technicians, crane operators and more. Of ICE’s more than 330 organizational members, over 100 of them have accredited programs. ICE’s mission is to advance credentialing through education, standards, research, and advocacy to ensure competence across professions and occupations. NCCA was founded as a commission whose mission is to help ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the public through the accreditation of a variety of certification programs that assess professional competence. NCCA uses a peer review process to: establish accreditation standards; evaluate compliance with these standards; recognize organizations/programs which demonstrate compliance; and serve as a resource on quality certification. ICE and NCCA are located at 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036- 3309; telephone 202/367-1165; facsimile 202/367-216

Want News Updates?

If you would like to receive updates from ABWM, please enter your e-mail address.

    Similar Articles
    28 Sep 2020

    ABWM Provides Flexibility on Renewals and Recertifications During Covid-19

    Read More
    7 Dec 2022

    ABWM Announces New President, Director, and Public Member

    Read More
    15 Feb 2021

    ABWM Announces New Testing Partner, Pearson VUE

    Read More