A medical professional wrapping a bandage around a patient's hand

CWCA® Certified Wound Care AssociateTM Candidate

Why should you become a CWCA® Candidate?

Passing the CWCA® Candidate exam demonstrates a distinct and specialized knowledge in wound management, and provides a structured pathway to earning the prestigious Certified Wound Care Associate™ (CWCA®) board certification.

Becoming a CWCA® Candidate will help you:

  • Embark on your path to CWCA® board certification, a formal recognition of your specialized knowledge in wound management.
  • Elevate your status as a specialist in wound care.
  • Become recognized as a healthcare professional with specialized knowledge of wounds.
  • Demonstrate a dedication to the highest standards in wound care.
  • Cooperate and exchange resources with the disciplines and organizations involved in wound care.
  • Gain professional pride and growth.
  • Advance your career.

Who is Eligible?

  • Students and recent graduates in the healthcare professions with less than 3 years of wound care experience
  • Sales and marketing professional in the wound care industry with less than 3 years of wound care experience
  • Candidates with a professional license applying for the CWCA® Candidate must possess a full and unrestricted professional license in at least one state and in all states in which the candidate currently practices that have less than 3 years of experience.

Examples: Recent Graduates, Associate LPNs, LVNs, PTAs, all certified healthcare assistants, healthcare administrators, dietitians, sales and marketing professionals, and academic researchers.

How to Apply

The National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) granted accreditation to the American Board of Wound Management’s Certified Wound Care Associate™ (CWCA®) exam for demonstrating compliance with the NCCA Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs. NCCA is the accrediting body of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly the National Organization for Competency Assurance). The NCCA Standards were created in 1977 and updated in 2003 to ensure certification programs adhere to modern standards of practice for the certification industry. The American Board of Wound Management joins an elite group of more than 130 organizations representing over 315 programs that have received and maintained NCCA accreditation.

CWCA® Candidate: How to Prepare

In compliance with National Accrediting Standards, the ABWM does not provide review materials for the Certification or Candidate Examinations. It is the responsibility of the applicant to prepare by any means they feel are appropriate. The link below provides resources previous applicants have used to prepare for their exams.


Discover Resources

CWCA® Candidate Exam Content Outline

Effective January 1, 2023

View the outline below by expanding the list. You may view the results of the National Job Task Analysis Study of the CWCA®, CWS®, and CWSP® here.

Domain 1. Wound Healing Environment (26%, 26 items)
Domain 2. Assessment and Diagnosis (24%, 24 items)
Domain 3. Patient Management (20%, 20 items)
Domain 4. Etiological Considerations (19%, 19 items)
Domain 5. Professional Issues (11%, 11 items)
In addition to classifying by topic (above) items will be classified by task. Tasks that are eligible for assessment include:
Patient Preparation
Patient Assessment
Professional Issues

Certification FAQs

Find the answers you need in our list of frequently asked questions for the CWCA®, CWS®, CWSP®, CWCA® Candidate, CWS® Candidate and CWSP® Candidate certifications.

Explore Our FAQs