A medical professional wrapping a bandage around a patient's hand

CWCA® Certified Wound Care AssociateTM

Why should you become a CWCA®?

The Certified Wound Care Associate™ (CWCA®) board certification demonstrates a distinct and specialized knowledge in wound management, thereby promoting quality of care for persons with wounds.

Becoming a CWCA® will help you:

  • Elevate your status as a specialist in wound care.
  • Become recognized as a healthcare professional with specialized knowledge of wounds.
  • Demonstrate a dedication to the highest standards in wound care.
  • Cooperate and exchange resources with the disciplines and organizations involved in wound care.
  • Gain professional pride and growth.
  • Advance your career.

Who is Eligible?

  • Healthcare professional with at least 3 years of wound care experience
  • Sales and marketing professional in the wound care industry with at least 3 years of wound care experience
  • Candidates with a professional license applying for the CWCA® must possess a full and unrestricted professional license in at least one state and in all states in which the candidate currently practices.

Examples: LPNs, LVNs, PTAs, all certified healthcare assistants, healthcare administrators, dietitians, sales and marketing professionals, and academic researchers.

How to Apply

The National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) granted accreditation to the American Board of Wound Management Certified Wound Care Associate (CWCA®) for demonstrating compliance with the NCCA Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs. NCCA is the accrediting body of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly the National Organization for Competency Assurance). The NCCA Standards were created in 1977 and updated in 2003 to ensure certification programs adhere to modern standards of practice for the certification industry. The American Board of Wound Management joins an elite group of more than 130 organizations representing over 315 programs that have received and maintained NCCA accreditation.

CWCA®: How to Prepare

In compliance with National Accrediting Standards, the ABWM does not provide review materials for the Certification Examination. It is the responsibility of the candidate to prepare by any means they feel are appropriate. The link below provides resources previous candidates have used to prepare for the certification exam.


Discover Resources

CWCA® Content Outline

Effective January 1, 2023

View the outline below by expanding the list. You may view the results of the National Job Task Analysis Study of the CWCA®, CWS®, and CWSP® here.

Domain 1. Wound Healing Environment (26%, 26 items)
Domain 2. Assessment and Diagnosis (24%, 24 items)
Domain 3. Patient Management (20%, 20 items)
Domain 4. Etiological Considerations (19%, 19 items)
Domain 5. Professional Issues (11%, 11 items)
In addition to classifying by topic (above) items will be classified by task. Tasks that are eligible for assessment include:
Patient Preparation
Patient Assessment
Professional Issues

Certification FAQs

Find the answers you need in our list of frequently asked questions for the CWCA®, CWS® and CWSP®.

Explore Our FAQs