Certified Wound Care Associate®

-The Certified Wound Care Associate® (CWCA®) board certification demonstrates a distinct and specialized knowledge in wound management, thereby promoting quality of care for persons with wounds.
-For Associate degree LPNs, LVNs, PTAs, all certified healthcare assistants, healthcare administrators, dietitians, sales and marketing professionals and academic researchers.

Learn More


Certified Wound Specialist®

-The Certified Wound Specialist (CWS®) board certification is a formal recognition of a master level knowledge and specialty practice in wound management.
-For Licensed DOs, DPMs, MDs, NPs, DVMs, PAs, PTs, OTs, PharmDs, RDs or RNs.

Learn More


Certified Wound Specialist Physician®

-The American Board of Wound Management (ABWM) offers a wound care certification specifically developed for physicians (MD's, DO's and DPM's).
-For licensed MDs, DOs and DPMs.

Learn More

The American Board of Wound Management

The American Board of Wound Management (ABWM), is a voluntary, not-for-profit organization established for the purpose of credentialing multi-disciplinary professionals in the field of wound management.

Learn More

Due to COVID-19, ABWM Headquarters staff will be working remotely until further notice. Please expect delays in application receipt and processing. Staff will be available via email at and via phone at 202-457-8408 to address any questions or concerns. To reschedule your CWCA®, CWS®, or CWSP® exam, please contact our exam partner, PSI, Inc.:

ABWM staff are currently working remotely, please anticipate some delays in email and phone response times.

We are currently accepting applications for our CWCA®, CWS® and CWSP® exams. To avoid delays in application receipt and processing, please send applications via regular mail, Fedex or UPS. We are not accepting certified mail at this time.

Email info@abwmcertified or call 202-457-8408 with any questions or concerns.