Press Release

ABWM Announces New President, Director, and Public Member

Washington, DC – The American Board of Wound Management (ABWM) announces Alistair Bairos, MD, FACCWS, CWSP®® as President of the American Board of Wound Management. Dr. Bairos began his two-year term as president at the conclusion of the November 4, 2022 Board of Directors Meeting.

Dr. Bairos received his undergraduate degree from the University of Hawai’i in 1975 and his medical doctorate from Dalhousie University in 1980. He completed his General Surgery residency in 1985. He has maintained a private practice in General Surgery and Wound Care on the Big Island of Hawai’i since then, practicing at both Kona Community and Queen’s North Hawai’i Community Hospitals. Dr. Bairos was a member of the inaugural group of physicians nationally to receive the Certified Wound Specialist Physician (CWSP®) certification with the first sitting of that examination in 2009. Dr Bairos made four mission trips to Haiti in the aftermath of the 2010 earthquake; it was during the initial Haiti trip that he became acquainted with other ABWM members, which led to his increasing involvement with the organization. Dr. Bairos has served on the ABWM Exam Committee since 2012 and the Board of Directors since 2014. Dr Bairos’s primary clinical interest is in recognizing and assisting the unique challenges of providing holistic wound care services in rural and underserved communities.

Karen A. Wientjes, PT, DPT, MPH, CWS®, Neumann University, Aston, PA, assumes a two-year term as Immediate Past President. Robert Klein, DPM, FACFAS, CWS®, University of South Carolina School of Medicine, Greenville, SC, has been nominated to the position of President-Elect. Newly elected to the Board of Directors are Joreine Landoy, BSN, RN, CWCA®, University of Michigan Health West, Grand Rapids, MI and Public Member Renee Chesnut, EdD, MBA, RPh, Drake University, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, Des Moines, IA.

Members remaining on the Board of Directors are Treasurer Kirk Grantham, MD, CWSP®, Willis-Knighton Health System, Bossier City, LA; Secretary Kathy Kaufman, LPN, CHT, CWCA®, American Medical Technologies, Suwanee, GA; Exam Committee Chair Edward C. Mahoney, DPT, CWS®, LSU Health Sciences Center, Shreveport, LA; Theodore MacKinney, MD, MPH, FACP, CWSP®, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI; Heather Schuster, MPAS, PA-C, CWS®, Panhandle Vascular, Pensacola, FL; Jon Senkowsky, MD, CWSP®, Texas Health, Arlington, TX, and Executive Director Christopher Murphy, Washington, DC.

The purpose of the American Board of Wound Management is to establish and administer a certification process to elevate the standard of care across the continuum of wound management. The ABWM is dedicated to an interdisciplinary approach in promoting prevention, care and treatment of acute and chronic wounds. The ABWM currently offers the Certified Wound Specialist® (CWS®) , Certified Wound Care Associate® (CWCA®), and Certified Wound Specialist Physician® (CWSP®) credentials.

For more information on the American Board of Wound Management, the Certified Wound Specialist®, Certified Wound Care Associate® or the Certified Wound Specialist Physician® (CWSP®) credentials please visit

# # #

Download a full copy of this press release here.

Want News Updates?

If you would like to receive updates from ABWM, please enter your e-mail address.

    Similar Articles
    28 Sep 2020

    ABWM Provides Flexibility on Renewals and Recertifications During Covid-19

    Read More
    23 Feb 2022

    ABWM to Exhibit at SAWC Spring 2022

    Read More
    15 Jun 2023

    American Board of Wound Management Receives Re-accreditation

    Read More