

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: December 5, 2024

Contact: Christopher Murphy
Executive Director
(202) 457-8408
cmurphy@abwmcertified.org

ABWM Announces New President

Washington, DC - The American Board of Wound Management (ABWM) announces the election of **Robert Klein, DPM, FACFAS, CWS®**, as President of the American Board of Wound Management. Dr. Klein began his two-year term as president at the conclusion of the November 16, 2024 Board of Directors Meeting.

Dr. Klein graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry from Florida Atlantic College, and a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine at the Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine, Rosalind Franklin University. With over 32 years of wound care experience, Dr. Klein is a Certified Wound Specialist (CWS®) through the American Board of Wound Management (ABWM) and has been active on the Board of Directors since 2020. He is Division Chair – Wound Care for Prisma Health. Dr. Klein, completed his podiatric surgical residency at Michigan Health Center in Detroit and continuing lifelong learning completed a Strategic Healthcare Leadership program at Cornell University. A Diplomate of the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery and the American Board of Wound Management, he specializes in wound care, foot surgery, and amputation prevention. Dr. Klein is a Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine – Greenville, and an Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Bioengineering at Clemson University. He has delivered numerous scientific presentations and posters nationally and internationally.

Alistair Bairos, MD, FACCWS, CWSP®, North Hawaii Community Hospital, Kealakekua, HI, assumes a two-year term as Immediate Past President. Newly elected to the Board of Directors are Sue Dieter, MS, RN, CWS® Sanara MedTech, Inc., Channahon, Illinois. Members remaining on the Board of Directors are President-Elect, Edward C. Mahoney, DPT, CWS®, LSU Health Sciences Center, Shreveport, LA; Treasurer, Jon Senkowsky, MD, CWSP®, Arlington, TX; Secretary, Heather Schuster, MPAS, PA-C, CWS, Acclaim Physician Group, Fort Worth, TX; Public Member, Renae Chesnut, EdD, MBA, RPh., Drake University, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences; Douglas Cohen, DPM, CWSP, Sarasota. FL; Joreine Landoy, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, FACCWS, CWCA®, University of Michigan Health West Grand Rapids, MI; Theodore MacKinney MD, MPH, FACP, CWSP® Director, Medical College of Wisconsin; Milwaukee, WI; Christopher M. Murphy, Executive Director American Board of Wound Management Washington, DC; and Karen A. Wientjes PT, DPT, MPH, CWS® Neuman University in Aston, PA

The purpose of the American Board of Wound Management is to establish and administer a certification process to elevate the standard of care across the continuum of wound management. The Board is dedicated to an interdisciplinary approach in promoting prevention, care and treatment of acute and chronic wounds. The ABWM currently offers the Certified Wound Specialist (CWS), Certified Wound Care Associate (CWCA), and Certified Wound Specialist Physician (CWSP) credentials.

For more information on the American Board of Wound Management the Certified Wound Care Associate™ (CWCA®) the Certified Wound Specialist® (CWS®)or the Certified Wound Specialist Physician® (CWSP®) credentials please visit <u>www.abwmcertified.org.</u>



###