

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: December 2, 2020

Contact: Christopher Murphy
Executive Director
(202) 457-8408
cmurphy@abwmcertified.org

## **ABWM Announces New President**

Washington, DC - The American Board of Wound Management (ABWM) announces the election of **Karen A. Wientjes, PT, DPT, MPH, CWS®** as President of the American Board of Wound Management. Dr. Wientjes began her two-year term as president at the conclusion of the November 12, 2020 Board of Directors Meeting.

Dr. Karen Wientjes graduated with a Physical Therapy degree from the University of Scranton in 1994, a Master's degree in Integrative Health from West Chester University in 2003 and a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree from Neumann College in 2007. Dr. Wientjes has been a Certified Wound Specialist (CWS®) through the American Board of Wound Management (ABWM) since 1999 and has been active on the Exam Committee since 2012 and the Board of Directors since 2014. She is also a Professor at Neumann University in Aston, PA and stays involved in clinical practice as a Wound Specialist at Optimum Physical Therapy Associates, as well as a consultant to area hospitals. Dr. Wientjes has provided physical therapy services through mission work in Peru and Haiti. She presents nationally and internationally on topics related to wound healing and physical therapy. Her areas of research include wound measurement, biophysical agents and integrative approaches to healing. She emphasizes a mind-body approach to healing and helps her patients optimize their outcome through a holistic plan of care.

Gayle C. Lindsey, PT, MBA, MHSM, CWS®, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center, Burleson, TX assumes a two-year term as Immediate Past President. Alistair Bairos, MD, FACCWS, CWSP®, North Hawaii Community Hospital, Kealakekua, HI, has been nominated to the position of President-Elect. Newly elected to the Board of Directors are Heather Schuster, MPAS, PA-C, CWS®, Acclaim Physician Group, Fort Worth, TX; and Robert Klein, DPM, FACFAS, CWS®, Greenville, SC. Members remaining on the Board of Directors are Treasurer Yvette Ardoin Monteleon, RN, CWS®, American Medical Technologies, Lafayette, LA; Secretary Amy B. Pierno, MSPT, CWS®, Postureworks, Wellesley, MA; Exam Committee Chair Edward C. Mahoney, DPT, CWS®, LSU Health Sciences Center, Shreveport, LA; Public Member Russell B. Melchert, PhD, RPh, University of Missouri - Kansas City, Lee's Summit, MO; Kathy Kaufman, LPN, CHT, CWCA®, American Medical Technologies, Suwanee, GA; Kirk Grantham, MD, CWSP®, Willis-Knighton Health System, Bossier City, LA; and Executive Director Christopher Murphy, Washington, DC.



The purpose of the American Board of Wound Management is to establish and administer a certification process to elevate the standard of care across the continuum of wound management. The Academy is dedicated to an interdisciplinary approach in promoting prevention, care and treatment of acute and chronic wounds. The AAWM currently offers the Certified Wound Specialist® (CWS®), Certified Wound Care Associate® (CWCA®), and Certified Wound Specialist Physician® (CWSP®) credentials.

For more information on the American Board of Wound Management, the Certified Wound Specialist<sup>®</sup>, Certified Wound Care Associate<sup>®</sup> or the Certified Wound Specialist Physician<sup>®</sup> (CWSP<sup>®</sup>) credentials please visit <a href="https://www.abwmcertified.org">www.abwmcertified.org</a>

###